Diocesan Appointments 2016

Bishop Kevin Doran has announced the following diocesan appointments:

Roscommon – Kiltoom – Athlone – Athleague (effective 31st July)

Very Rev Canon Eugene McLoughlin, who is retiring as PP VF of Roscommon, to be Administrator Athleague and Fuerty, which became vacant on the death of Very Rev John Leogue PP

Very Rev John Cullen, PP Kiltoom to be PP Roscommon

Rev Michael McManus CC Athlone (Drum), to be PP Kiltoom

Rev Kazimierz Wrobel (Archdiocese of Katowice, Poland), CC Athleague and Fuerty to be CC Athlone (Drum)

Castlerea – Kilgefin (Ballyleague) – St. Mary’s, Sligo (effective 31st July)

Very Rev Canon Joseph Fitzgerald PP is retiring as PP Castlerea. He will reside in Ballygar and join the parish team at Sacred Heart Parish, Roscommon

Very Rev John McManus, PP Kilgefin (Ballyleague) to be PP Castlerea

Rev Dusmanta Mahanyak (Archdiocese of Cuttack Bhubaneswar, India), CC St. Mary’s, Sligo, to be Administrator Kilgefin (Ballyleague)

Rev Julian Lupot (Diocese of Tagbilaran, Philippines), to be CC St. Mary’s, Sligo

Tulsk (effective 15th July)

Rev John Gannon (Archdiocese of Johannesburg), to be PP Tulsk, which became vacant on the death of Monsignor Austin McKeon

Aughrim and Kilmore (effective 31st July)

Rev Tomasz Grzegorzewski SDB is taking sabbatical leave and has resigned as PP of Aughrim and Kilmore

Rev Stephen Ezenwegbu (Diocese of Awka, Nigeria), to be Administrator of Aughrim and Kilmore


Effective 1st May 

Fr Seán O’Dowd SPS retired as CC Athlone at the end of April 2016 and has been appointed Chaplain to the Sisters of Mercy in Dun Mhuire, Athlone.

Rev Michael Duignan
Diocesan Secretary